L'Ordre

 - Presentation
 - The History
 - The Organisation
 - The Calendar
 - Grades
 - The Legend

Connétablie
 
 - Commanderies
 - Meetings
 - News
 
The Others
 
 - Links
 - The web site

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Presentation of the Order

The Hospital Order Curious and Courteous of the Knights of Saint Bacchus was founded in 1947 in Paris by the Count Jean-Paul Mariage Eudes de Saint Pierre, a pleasant epicurean who wanted to join together, in a climate of friendship and knight spirit, people of good company, of any origin and all professions, amateurs of good wine, to carry out a true crusade against " the mechanised wines and the chemists " and to defend " the -vin vray- and the vine growers " under the banner of a Saint martyr, forgotten by the Church, Saint Bacchus.

This Order is not attached to a vineyard or a particular vintage, but it defends all the wines, whatever their origin, provided that they are, natural, healthy and of good quality.

 

The rallying cry of the Order is:

" Par Saint Bacchus, aymons nous ! "


Organisation

The Order is an international association to which are attached Connétablies. It is directed by an International Committee of the Order that is chaired by the Grand Maître and is composed of the Grand Connétables of each nationality and high-ranking dignitaries elected by the general assembly.

The Connétablies or the Grandes Connétablies are managed by a National Grand Council according to the specific laws and payments to each country.

For the Grand Connétablie of France, association law of 1901, the regional establishment is entrusted to the Commanderies.  Also associations according to the law of 1901, which are currently five: Paris-Isle de France, Champagne, Rhône-Alpes-Bourgogne, Hauts de France and  Narbonnaise. These Commanderies can themselves, according to their geographical extent, being divided into Bailliages.

There is also the Grand Connétablie of Belgium and the Grand Connétablie of England. Each one is divided into Commanderies or Grandes Commanderies. In Belgium there are eight of them (Aalst, Antwerpen-Métropolis, Brugge, Liege-Verviers, Leuven, Mouscron, Sint- Niklaas and Waregem) and in England two Commanderies,  (Wessex & Downland and Weald).


Admission

To join the Order, it is only necessary to have an  interest in oeneology and wine, to be sponsored by a member of the Order and to pay the annual membership fee that is fixed each year by the National Grand Council .

The men join the Order with the title of Chevalier (Knight), the Ladies with that of Dame Chanoinesse.

The new members are inducted during one of the "Chapitres", of which two or three are held each year, the Chevaliers being " adoubés " and the Dame Chanoinesses being " proclaimed ". Each new member receives a diploma together with a cross of the Order held by a black ribbon for the Chevaliers and blue for the Dames Chanoinesses.


Obligations for the Knights and Chanoinesses

The Chevaliers and the Dames Chanoinesses declare an oath "to defend the vin vray" and commit themselves moreover to respecting the spirit of the Order summarised in its title: hospitality towards its peers, curiosity towards the things to do with wine and courtesy towards all.

There is a modest annual membership fee whose amount is fixed each year by the National Grand Council.


Pageantry

Chevaliers can wear a black cape with Maltese red cross and a Louis XI hat with black feathers, red cord band and budded with the weapons of the Order .

Dames Chanoinesses can wear the same cape but with Maltese blue cross with the option of a similar hat with a blue cordon.

The wearing of capes is only obligatory for the High-ranking dignitaries and the Dignitaries officiating at a Chapitre. It is optional for the Chevaliers and Dames Chanoinesses.


Events

The Order organises Chapitres in France, Belgium and England each year. In France, a Chapitre Magistral is organised each year, during which new members can be inducted by the Grand Maître or his representative. Other Chapitres can be organised by the Commanderies, . The calendar of the Chapitres is published in the beginning of each Year.

Apart from the Chapitres, the Commanderies organise social functions devoted to the wine and the gastronomy for their members.

Copyright © 2005

L'Ordre
 - Présentation
 - Historique
 - Organisation
 - Calendrier
 - Grades
 - Saint Bacchus
Connétablie de France
 
 - Commanderies
 - Manifestations
 - Nouvelles
 
Divers
 
 - Bibliographie
 - Liens
 - Le site

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Présentation de l'Ordre

L'Ordre Hospitalier Curieux et Courtois des Chevaliers de Saint Bacchus a été fondé en 1947 à Paris par le Comte Jean-Paul Mariage Eudes de Saint Pierre, aimable épicurien qui a voulu réunir, dans un climat d'amitié et d'esprit chevaleresque, des gens de bonne compagnie, de toutes origines et de toutes professions, amateurs de bon vin pour mener une véritable croisade contre "les vins mécanisés et les chimistes" et défendre "le vin vray et les vignerons" sous la bannière d'un Saint martyr oublié par l'Église, Saint Bacchus.

Cet Ordre n'est pas attaché à un vignoble ou à un cru particulier mais il défend tous les vins quelle que soit leur origine pourvu qu'ils soient francs, naturels, sains et de bon aloi.

 Le cri de ralliement de l'Ordre est  :

" Par Saint Bacchus, aymons nous ! "


Organisation

L'Ordre est une association internationale à laquelle sont rattachées de Grandes Connétablies, elles même associations nationales. Il est dirigé par un Comité International de l'Ordre présidé par le Grand Maître et composé de celui-ci, des Grands Connétables de chaque nationalité et de Grands Dignitaires élus par l'assemblée générale.

Les Connétablies ou Grandes Connétablies sont administrées par un Comité Magistral National selon les lois et règlements propres à chaque pays.

Pour la Grande Connétablie de France, association loi de 1901, l'implantation régionale est confiée à des Commanderies, elles aussi associations selon la loi de 1901, actuellement au nombre de cinq ; Paris-Isle de France, Champagne, Rhône-Alpes Bourgogne, Hauts de France et  Narbonnaise. Ces Commanderies peuvent elles-mêmes, en fonction de leur étendue géographique, être divisées en Bailliages.

Il y a également une Grande Connétablie de Belgique,  une Grande Connétablie d'  Angleterre et  une Grande Connétablie du Canada. Chacune est divisée en Commanderies ou Grandes Commanderies, c'est le cas en Belgique qui en comporte huit (Aalst, Antwerpen-Métropolis, Brugge, Liège-Verviers, Leuven, Mouscron, Sint Niklaas et Waregem), en Angleterre qui en comporte deux (Wessex and Downland et Weald) et au Canada, une (Montréal).


Admission

Pour être admis à l'Ordre, il faut manifester un intérêt certain pour les choses de la vigne et du vin, être parrainé par un membre de l'Ordre et acquitter un droit de chancellerie dont le montant est fixé chaque année par le Conseil National.

Les Messieurs sont admis à l'Ordre avec le titre de Chevalier, les Dames et Demoiselles avec celui de Dame Chanoinesse.

Les nouveaux membres sont reçus au cours d'un des Chapitres, au nombre de deux ou trois voire davantage tenus dans l'année, les Chevaliers étant "adoubés" et les Dames Chanoinesses "proclamées". Un diplôme est remis aux uns et aux autres avec une croix de l'Ordre tenue par un ruban noir pour les Chevaliers et bleu pour les Dames Chanoinesses.


Obligations pour les Chevaliers et Dames Chanoinesses

Chevaliers et Dames Chanoinesses prêtent le serment de défendre le vin vray, ils s'engagent en outre à respecter l'esprit de l'Ordre résumé dans son titre : hospitalité envers ses pairs, curiosité envers les choses du vin et courtoisie envers tous.

Une cotisation annuelle dont le montant est fixé chaque année par chaque Conseil de Commanderie est demandée aux membres actifs.

Des personnalités qui ont notoirement oeuvré pour la défense du vin peuvent être admises à l'Ordre comme membres honoraires.

 

Tenue d'apparat

La tenue d'apparat est constituée pour les Chevaliers par une cape noire doublée de blanc, à croix de Malte rouge et le chapeau Louis XI à plumes noires cernées d'un cordon rouge et écussonné aux armes de l'Ordre.

Pour les Dames Chanoinesses, elle comporte la même cape à croix de Malte Bleue et du même chapeau cerné d'un cordon bleu.

La tenue est obligatoire pour les Grands Dignitaires ainsi que pour les Dignitaires remplissant une fonction de représentation. Elle est facultative pour les Chevaliers et Dames Chanoinesses.

 

Manifestations

L'Ordre organise des Chapitres en France et à L'étranger. En France, au moins un Chapitre Magistral est organisé chaque année. Des Chapitres peuvent être organisés par les Commanderies, Chapitres au cours desquels de nouveaux membres peuvent être reçus par le Grand Maître ou son représentant. Le calendrier des chapitres est publié au début de chaque année civile.

En dehors des chapitres, les Commanderies organisent dans leur région des réunions consacrées au vin et à la gastronomie à l'intention de leurs membres.

Copyright © 2005